A labour of love

When I started this blog, it was a place to express my strong desire to escape and get away.  And when I finally did get away, it became the perfect platform to share stories and photos from my trips abroad.  Now, more settled back at home, my blog has become a way for me to express myself and still share aspects of my life with anyone who happens to be reading.

Throughout all the phases of this blog over the last 4+ years, it has always been a creative outlet. Writing has always been my creative outlet.  I’ve dabbled in different types of writing over the years: fictional with short stories and scripts, blog posts, academic writing, editorial writing and freelance article writing.

I’ve always said that I love writing.  In fact, one of the reasons this blog came into existence is because it combines my two greatest loves: writing and travel.  I have never had a problem admitting my love for writing.

But admitting that I want it to be more than just a hobby? Now, that’s scary.

Over the last year (or probably longer), I’ve really struggled with a career path. I bounced around – non-profit, counselling, HR – but nothing really stuck.  I used to think I was so much smarter than those kids who decide they’re going to be doctors at the age of 7 and hold onto that for the rest of their lives. I thought by being open to all my interests and not committing to one thing, I was setting myself up for a more realistic career path.  And hey, maybe I will return to those other interests in the future and I don’t regret any of the career turns I’ve taken.  But I’ve also realized by not committing, I’m not putting myself out there. I’m not saying what I want. I’m not going after my dream. And honestly, it’s because I’m scared.  I am terrified that if I say my dream out loud, it means I could fail.  But if I don’t say it out loud, I’ll never know if I could succeed.

So, I’m saying it: I want to be a writer.

In fact, I am a writer! Not only on this blog, but I’ve been freelance writing for almost five years.  In the last few months, I’ve picked up a couple of new projects.  And I’m looking to add even more.  So I’m a writer and I’m looking for work! I really want to make writing my career. I want to be a writer. That’s my heart work. It’s terrifying to admit that. But it’s also really empowering. I’m not sure when I decided it was okay to bury my dream of writing but I’m done with that. I am slowly learning how to acknowledge my passion and give it the attention it deserves.

And with that acknowledgement comes all of the terrifying possibilities of rejection, writer’s block, networking, etc. I’m slowly coming around to those ideas. But it also comes with a lot of pride, creativity and great opportunities. I’m nervously excited.

So with that, if you or anyone you know is looking to hire a writer, I would love to be considered.  You can check out my work in my Writer’s Portfolio and contact me with any projects.  Please feel free to spread the word: this writer is going after her dream!

6 thoughts on “A labour of love

  1. Pingback: A new adventure: Vietnam! | A teaspoon of adventure...

  2. Pingback: Ch-ch-ch-changes! | A teaspoon of adventure...

  3. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | A teaspoon of adventure...

  4. Pingback: 5 Fears of Freelancing | A teaspoon of adventure...

Thoughts? Let me know!

