Those first few weeks…

Those first few September weeks in Vancouver are my favourite time of year.

***

The sun is still shining. The mountains are uncovered from rain or fog.  The sea is sparkling.  And the leaves are just thinking about changing colour.

There’s an excitement in the city.  An influx of new people, new students or just year-long Vancouverites, trying to hold onto the last bits of summer. The energy that comes with a new school year, a homecoming and a fresh start palpitates throughout Vancouver.

The sunset view from my friend's 17th floor apartment

The sunset view from my friend’s 17th floor apartment

And in these blissful few weeks, before midterms and the rain catch up with us, I remember just how gorgeous this city is and how lucky I am to live in it.  Sadly, in my four years of attending UBC, I haven’t done nearly enough Vancouver-exploring.  This year, I’m hoping to change that.

The 2010 Olympic torches. Can you believe I haven't actually seen these before?

The 2010 Olympic torches. Can you believe I haven’t actually seen these before?

The last few weekends here have been gloriously sunny.  And Vancouverites have been soaking up that sun like it won’t last (because it never does).  After church, I’ve taken to walking down to the sea wall and just marvelling at this perfect mix of city, water and nature.  I’ll sit with my book and find myself looking up every few pages just to appreciate the insane view and try to ingrain in into my memory before the weeks months of rain inevitably hit.

City, water, sky and me relaxing with my book = bliss!

City, water, mountains and me relaxing with my book = bliss!

One thought on “Those first few weeks…

  1. Pingback: 6 months worth of updates | A teaspoon of adventure...

Thoughts? Let me know!

