Gullfoss, Geysir & Gorgeous landscapes

On my 3rd day in Iceland, I went on a tour of the Golden Circle with Reykjavik Excursions. This six hour journey took me (and a packed bus full of tourists) to Thingvellir National Park, a hot spring hot spot home to the famous Geysir and the astounding Gullfoss waterfalls.

Unfortunately, the bad weather kept up and we were met with dark clouds and rain for most of the day. At our final stop at Gullfoss, Mother Nature decided to have even more fun by throwing some snow and freezing wind our way. It must have been comical to see a huge herd of people covered in white fluff and shielding their faces on the way back to the bus.

021

Overlooking Thingvellir National Park

Image

The hot spring Strokkur goes off every 7-10 minutes, much to the delight of us tourists

Image

Little Geysir – bubbly but not active

Image

Strokkur going off again!

Image

The famous Geysir

Image

Hot spring Haeta

Image

Gullfoss

Image

Gullfoss, from another angle

102

The cold at Gullfoss was beginning to set in…

The famed Northern Lights have still been avoiding me. I’ve been scheduled to see them every night since I’ve arrived but each day my tour gets cancelled due to crap weather. Only 2 nights left for things to hopefully turn around! Besides that, my remaining Iceland itinerary includes a walk up to the viewing deck of Perlan and a tour of Iceland’s southern coast.

5 thoughts on “Gullfoss, Geysir & Gorgeous landscapes

  1. Wow, the geography looks amazing. Cold, but still very beautiful. It looks like you need better outdoor wear, if you are going to do these colder climate excursions eh? Hope you get to see the Northern Lights Ri!

    • The landscapes are insane here! I can see why Game of Thrones did some filming here last summer. Agreed, my coat isn’t cutting it. But I’m hoping, aside from Antarctica, not to have any more cold places on my to-visit list!

  2. Pingback: A labour of love | A teaspoon of adventure...

Thoughts? Let me know!

