“Working 9 to 5, what a way to make a living!”

*Cue Dolly Parton and the soundtrack to this year’s musical!

****

As well as being the residence musical this year, 9 to 5 has also become my daily life! Except it’s actually 8:30 – 5 and with transit time it’s closer to 7:30 – 6….so 9 to 5 ish.

On January 2nd I started a co-op position with Free The Children at their Western Canada office as one of three Youth Programming Interns. I work with the Washington team and our main job is to get schools signed up for Seattle We Day on March 27! If you don’t know what We Day is, check out this awesome video.  Seriously, every time I re-watch that video I start off beaming like crazy and always end in tears.  It’s incredible how a 4 minute video has the power to remind me that my 6:30am wake ups and 40+ calls per day (most of which end in voice mails) are so worth it.

Besides being my employer, FTC is also responsible for a lot of my accessories! Thanks to the Mamas in Kenya I now own a ring I bought for myself at the Me to We store in Toronto, a blue Water Rafiki that I bought to support the Clean Water Initiative, a white Rafiki I got from a FTC/Telus event and a limited edition Rafiki for FTC staff!

Besides being my employer, FTC is also responsible for a lot of my accessories! Thanks to the Mamas in Kenya I now own a ring I bought for myself at the Me to We store in Toronto, a blue Water Rafiki that I bought to support the Clean Water Initiative, a white Rafiki I got from a FTC/Telus event and a limited edition Rafiki for FTC staff!

 

One of our first tasks on the job: put together your own Ikea chair! Not as easy as it looks people....

One of our first tasks on the job: put together your own Ikea chair! Not as easy as it looks people….

Besides getting to work for an organization I so strongly support, I also get to work with the most amazing people.  All of the staff at FTC are inspired, supportive and hilarious. They create such a welcoming environment and I can’t wait to rejoin them after I graduate as a more permanent staff member.  From taking the interns to Costco for lunch to late night emails, playing Hot Seat during staff meetings and shouting out co-workers who are kicking butt, I can’t imagine a better group to represent FTC.

After work I trek back to UBC to continue my work as a Residence Advisor. I still have all my meetings and other commitments, which is a bit hard when I’m off campus for almost 11 hours a day, but I’m managing. Musical is also picking up this term and it’s getting exciting. The cast is looking great – literally – my team is in charge of Costumes/Aesthetics so the cast will look phenomenal by March 7!

Outside of my jobs I’m taking one class online: Global Citizenship (SOCI430B). So far it has been pretty laid back and obviously tied into the theme of my job at FTC which is a nice overlap. I’m also doing pre-departure sessions for my International Service Learning trip to Swaziland this summer. The sessions started slow last Friday but hopefully they pick up and become more interesting/relevant. I’m excited to be going to Swaziland with the ISL program but I feel like there is a lot of stuff still up in the air.  Like how much funding I will receive and where the heck I’m going to live in May!

My plan for the rest of my UBC years has changed…again! Currently (and hopefully permanently) the plan is to finish this term with co-op, RA and my one course.  Then I will find a place to live in Vancouver for the month of May before taking off to Africa for 3 months.  I’ll come back to Vancouver in September to do some re-entry tasks and presentations from my trip.  The last presentation is in October, and during this time I will be living in Vancouver and taking UBC courses online. Once I’m done with my ISL commitments I will be flying home to Toronto for a few days and then on my free flight to Sydney! (Did I mention I won a free round-trip flight to Sydney, Aust from Air Canada? Well, that happened.) I’ll return to Toronto in early December to write my final exams for my online courses, spend Christmas with the fam and (fingers crossed) get my G! In 2014 I will be back on the other side of the world on exchange in Europe. I’m almost certain my top 3 choices for exchange are going to be London, Edinburgh and Amsterdam….so somewhere on that continent for sure! I’ll study and travel in Europe until May-ish and then return to Canadaland! After that I will have one semester of courses left to take and optional co-op terms to complete.  Ideally, I’d work as an RC for a year so I could get my co-op designation, take my final courses, make a little money and be able to spend my last UBC year in the RezLife family once again. If not – I’m sure I will figure out something else! So after all that, the plan is to graduate near/around April 2015!

So that’s where my life is sitting at the moment. My days are super packed with work #1, work #2, class, ISL, social life and attempting to keep my room liveable and my sleep pattern sane (failing miserably as denoted by my complete lack of clean dishes and pile of washed clothing that has yet to be put away). As busy as I am, I’m also loving all of the things I’m involved with and the exciting adventures coming up. I want to make sure when I graduate from UBC I can look back at all the amazing opportunities I took advantage of, even if it means a few early mornings and unwashed dishes!

****

PS: Resolutions Update! In case you’re curious how I’m doing with my 8 resolutions….the answer is not well! 1) I started brainstorming novel ideas in a book but nothing more fruitful than that. 2) I’ve made one cup of tea so far.  A slow start you might say.  3) I bought brown bread and made a few sandwiches. 4) I jumped back on the flossing train, thanks to daily texts from Simon (I assume the stretching will follow). 5) I started carrying a folder of unanswered letters with me to and from work but I’m not finding the time to respond to them.  My only free time seems to be on the bus, not terribly conducive to writing. 6) I’m thinking starting with a February budget sounds like a better plan! January budgets are just too predictable. 7) The bible has been moved off my shelf and closer to my bed for the daily before-sleep readings that haven’t actually started. 8) I have managed to wear an accessory everyday, so the easiest resolution was kept!

One thought on ““Working 9 to 5, what a way to make a living!”

  1. Pingback: 2.0.1.3. | A teaspoon of adventure...

Thoughts? Let me know!

