Summer Update

So, I’ve been home for almost a month and it feels like I don’t have a ton to show for it…

Sure, I’ve caught up with all my friends and family. And I’m a contributing writer for 2 websites, doing interviews for a 3rd, doing other freelance writing jobs and working on a short story to be published on the Kindle.  But I still sleep in till past 12, stay up till almost 5am watching TV, and spend most of the day behind my computer on the couch.

I still can’t believe it’s almost been a month!  I still feel like I am in the midst of planning my summer – like there is some big adventure still waiting for me.  I think I might go nuts if this is how the next 3 months turn out. I’m still holding out for co-op or something bigger/better.

There is one glimmer of hope.  My dream job is open at Me to We and I’m not as terribly unqualified for it as I thought I’d be.  The position, program coordinator, is perfect.  It’s a contract position; 3-8weeks long which is exactly how much time I have before I have to head back to Vancouver.  It’s with one of my dream employers.  I grew up learning about Craig Kielburger and his charity, Free The Children.  Attending a We Day event back in 2006 was really the catalyst for all the social justice involvement in my life thus far.  I’ve always imagined working at FTC after graduation and it would be amazing to get started now.  And the job involves travel! As the program coordinator I would be leading a group of youth to a developing country for a FTC trip.  That would be unbelievable! And I really feel that my job this past year and other similar experiences actually give me a shot at being good at this job.  But how I’m going to convey all of that in a cover letter is proving to be difficult.  Plus: how am I going to convince them to let a 19 year old university student lead a group of teenagers to a developing country?

If that doesn’t work out (though crossing all my fingers it does!), I could possibly (read:unlikely) get a co-op job.  Or else I really do need to hit the pavement here in TO.  But – ugh – nothing makes me more depressed then spending the rest of my summer living with my parents and working a retail/hospitality job.  I realize I’m really not in a position to complain but I need this summer to be bigger than that.  It started out with so much potential! I had a shot of going to Italy! And now I’m looking at a boring summer in my hometown and living with my parents.  I just feel like I’m going backwards.  And if I don’t get some sort of inspiration or fresh start from this summer, I’m really scared I won’t make it through the school year.  I was already struggling enough through this past school year, I don’t think I could do it again.  My grades suffered, my job suffered, and I suffered.  It just wasn’t fun towards the end.  And I really don’t relish the idea of doing that all over again.

So, I guess I’m going to keep my fingers crossed, send up a prayer and send along my cover letter! I would be beyond happy if I landed the Me to We position.  I’m trying to keep a positive attitude and work out contingency plans but this really is my dream job.  I feel like I’ve lost a lot of other opportunities for this summer and maybe it was all to make sure I was available for this one.

But if not, it won’t be the end of the world.  I’ll come up with something…I hope!

Thoughts? Let me know!

